iOS stopped asking user for Photo Library Permission

iOS is not asking user for Photo Library Permission anymore. Even when I deleted the app from the device. This also happens on Simulator.

switch ([ALAssetsLibrary authorizationStatus])
{
    case ALAuthorizationStatusAuthorized:
        RPMLog(@"authorized");
        break;
    case ALAuthorizationStatusDenied:
        RPMLog(@"denied");
        break;
    case ALAuthorizationStatusNotDetermined:
        RPMLog(@"not determined");
        break;
    case ALAuthorizationStatusRestricted:
        RPMLog(@"restricted");
        break;
}

I’m already authorized when I install the app for the first time. Prior to this, there’s no other event or screen that asks for the photos to trigger the user prompt.

  • CoreAnimation - Opacity Fade In and Out Animation Not Working
  • iOS - UISplitViewController with storyboard - multiple master views and multiple detail views
  • Receive push notifications from APNS to Titanium (iOS) App without using Appcelerator Cloudpush (ACS)?
  • Realm - Can't use object after having been deleted
  • Cordova 6.0.0 iOS localization with cordova-ios@4.0 and Xcode 7.2.1
  • Swift - Make UIViewController visible while adding new ViewController animated from TOP (via self.present)
  • Then I request the numberOfAssets in SavedPhotos and get it without the access prompt:

    ALAssetsLibrary *library = [[ALAssetsLibrary alloc] init];
    [library enumerateGroupsWithTypes:ALAssetsGroupSavedPhotos usingBlock:^(ALAssetsGroup *group, BOOL *stop) {
    
        if (!group) return;
    
        UIActionSheet *actionSheet = nil;
        if (([group numberOfAssets] > 0))
        {
            actionSheet = [[UIActionSheet alloc] initWithTitle:nil delegate:self cancelButtonTitle:NSLocalizedString(@"Cancel", nil) destructiveButtonTitle:nil otherButtonTitles:NSLocalizedString(@"Take new photo", nil), NSLocalizedString(@"Use last photo taken", nil), NSLocalizedString(@"Choose existing", nil), nil];
        }
        else
        {
            actionSheet = [[UIActionSheet alloc] initWithTitle:nil delegate:self cancelButtonTitle:NSLocalizedString(@"Cancel", nil) destructiveButtonTitle:nil otherButtonTitles:NSLocalizedString(@"Take new photo", nil), NSLocalizedString(@"Choose existing", nil), nil];
        }
    
        actionSheet.actionSheetStyle = UIActionSheetStyleBlackTranslucent;
        [actionSheet showFromTabBar:self.tabBar];
        [TestFlight passCheckpoint:@"New Look: Tab Bar"];
    
    } failureBlock:^(NSError *error) {
    
        NSAssert(!error, [error description]);
    }];
    

    6 Solutions Collect From Internet About “iOS stopped asking user for Photo Library Permission”

    What is happening is iOS is saving the permission granted to your app mapped to the bundle ID, if the app is deleted this data persists for 24 hours, this avoids re prompting the user if they reinstall the app (perhaps after mistakingly deleting an app).

    This also happens for Push Notification prompts.

    As a workaround, I quote Apple concerning the Push Notifications:

    Resetting the Push Notifications Permissions Alert on iOS

    The first
    time a push-enabled app registers for push notifications, iOS asks the
    user if they wish to receive notifications for that app. Once the user
    has responded to this alert it is not presented again unless the
    device is restored or the app has been uninstalled for at least a day.

    If you want to simulate a first-time run of your app, you can leave
    the app uninstalled for a day. You can achieve the latter without
    actually waiting a day by setting the system clock forward a day or
    more, turning the device off completely, then turning the device back
    on
    .

    Source: Apple Technical Note TN2265

    As the question is for Photo Library permissions, there is other way without changing the system clock and turning the device off.

    You can just go to “Settings” app

    (General > Reset > Reset Location & Privacy).

    This will make the apps ask for photo library, location and other permissions again.

    Restting via the settings app is difficult to automate. We use simctl to reset the simulators content and settings in an automated fashion to reset the permissions dialog. This will require re-installing the app in the simulator, but again simctl can accomplish this.

    If you are using the iOS Simulator, resetting it using Simulator/Reset Content and Settings… seems to reset this setting. Of course, you’ll then need to reinstall your app onto it.

    You can check this permission by two types –

    • In Simulator
      you can do Simulator/Reset Content and Settings.
    • In Physical device (iPhone, iPad)
      You can change date, at least difference should be 24 hours.

    but first uninstall app from device then restart then apply this thing then it will work.

    You just need to follow bellow point no need to reinstall or delete app.

    • App remove from background
    • Go to Settings->General->Reset-> click on Reset Location & Privacy

    Hope you got help.